Welcome to The Pursuit

I have been following the Washington Nationals and have been attending ballgames ever since the Expos relocated to DC in 2005.  I have seen it all.  Everything from the first pitch by Livan Hernandez, to baseball’s return to Washington D.C. in 35 years.  I was at RFK Stadium when Ryan Zimmerman hit the first walk-off home run in Nationals history.  I watched the Nats close RFK Stadium and move into beautiful Nats Park.  Like many long-term fans, I endured a couple 100-loss seasons and several last place finishes.  I was excited about drafting Stephen Strasburg and Bryce Harper.  I jumped out of my couch when Strasburg threw 14 strikeouts in his big league debut in 2010.  I was at Nats Park when Harper stole home off of Cole Hamels in his rookie year.  I celebrated the Nats first NL East title and trip to the playoffs.  And I rolled my eyes with disgust when the Nats blew it in Game 5 in the 2012 NLDS and watched them falter in an 18 inning affair two years later.  Plus the other night I was at Max Scherzer’s 20 strikeout performance!

What I’m trying to say I am like a lot of you Nats fans.  In addition to my fanhood for the Nationals and for baseball I am an aspiring sports journalist having just graduated from Radford University this past Saturday.  I started this blog to write about the Nats and hopefully my writing, in addition to other writers that I recruit, can help tell the story in their pursuit of success in 2016 and beyond.

I plan on writing game recaps, feature stories, farm system reports and everything in between.  I hope you make this site one of your bookmarks for great independent Nationals coverage, by a fan for the fans.  If you have any questions, comments or would like to write or contribute to the site, feel free to contact me!

Enjoy the site and enjoy the ride Nats fans.  This is our pursuit, The Pursuit.

Leave a Reply

